Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 67 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2006, 07:06 AM   #991
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
How do to the Handwriting Effect

Hi guys. I have 2 short clips here which I think r really nice. The first, is the writing text effect. I like to know what software can I use to create that. The example below writes chinese text.
http://s31.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=1...A36A1PFLK16XSN

Second effect is warping of an entire block of characters. IT looks as if the text block is rotating about an axis. At the same time, blocks of images fly in to fill the screen. Its look like an AE production to me. Can it be done in Vegas 6?
http://s30.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3...722TBU3LELJKC0

Thanks!
Sean Seah is offline  
Old March 29th, 2006, 11:13 AM   #992
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 195
Drop vs. non-drop

My timecode has been eating my lunch. Here's a quick synopsis. I did a 3 cam shoot in HDCam 1080 60i. I captured the footage via firewire & a J-h3 deck. My intention is to do the SD ofline in Vegas 6 D and my partner to take my EDL's and do the Online in HD. My edl's don't work because Vegas is picking up different t/c. How I know that is that when I captured my footage, I set the deck to superimpose the t/c on the image. When I tell vegas to add the t/c to the media, it adds some other funky t/c that is way off. Hence my edl's don't sync. Sony showed me how to use eser set t/c on each media. I then went to the beginning of the clip and wrote down the t/c superimposed and went to media properties ands added that as my starting t/c. I'm almost through when I realize that two cams were on drop frame and one was on non-drop. Can anyone tell me if the selection of drop/non-drop must be made prior to capture? My t/c's still drift about 5 seconds in 3 minutes which I guess is due to drop frames.

Thanks,

Jeff
Jeff Mack is offline  
Old March 29th, 2006, 07:53 PM   #993
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
New to vegas

I purchased Movie studio + DVD platinum and found out that this program is quite difficult to learn. Does anyone know of any beginner training videos for this program? I really appreciate the great information from this website. Take care and GOD bless!
David Ellis is offline  
Old March 29th, 2006, 08:44 PM   #994
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hooper, UT
Posts: 177
David,
VASST just released their training DVD for VMS. See it here: http://www.vasst.com/product.aspx?id...5-694ef7cc7fb9. There's 4 hours of instruction. It's only $49 too. I've got one coming. Looks really good.
Randy
Randy Stewart is offline  
Old March 29th, 2006, 09:00 PM   #995
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hooper, UT
Posts: 177
OT-Cool New Plug-in For Vegas

VASST has just released a plug-in that will make your video look like a sketch or cartoon and several other very cool effects. It's only $39 too. Check it out here: http://www.vasst.com/product.aspx?id...c-64b4f1186f27. I gotta get this.
Randy
Randy Stewart is offline  
Old March 29th, 2006, 09:13 PM   #996
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You can also look over my newsletters. While written for the full version, most aspects apply to the movie studio versions as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 29th, 2006, 09:19 PM   #997
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
LOL, there are also several dozen tutorials and downloadable training files that will open in Vegas Movie Studio that can be found at the VASST website as well.

but overall, you can't beat the forums for good information, and getting it fasst.
Look how fast you got 3 responses to your "training resource" question!
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 30th, 2006, 06:27 AM   #998
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
David,

Even though I own Vegas now, I recently downloaded one of the Studio product trials and though I haven't installed it yet, I saw that it comes with a series of free Tutorials. If you haven't done all of those then that's exactly where you should start. It will explain the Vegas interface and basic workflow.

Mr. Troxel's Newsletters are the next logical step (free and quite an education) and these will lead you to two conclusions:

1. You'll want to buy some quality instruction to get your money's worth, and Mr. Douglas Spotted Eagle is a huge favorite in this area.

2. You'll want to upgrade to Vegas ; )
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old March 31st, 2006, 07:56 AM   #999
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
How to add timecode to display in video

I have down up a rough draft of a project for a client. I would like to display some sort of timecode or minute counter on the frame somewhere. So they can watch it and make notes of changes etc.
Is there a way to do this in Vegas?
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline  
Old March 31st, 2006, 08:43 AM   #1000
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just add a Sony Timecode effect to one of the tracks.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 31st, 2006, 09:22 AM   #1001
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
another option, instead of the particlar track, is that if u want a global timecode for teh full project (if ur working with multiple video tracks) is to add the filter to the master output
when ur done, all u gotta do is disable the filter
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old March 31st, 2006, 10:10 PM   #1002
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Devon, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 47
Z1U 1080i to 4:3 SD

Greetings,

I'm heading into a shoot soon that requires the final output product to be 4:3 standard def.

I am going to shoot 1080i HDV for future needs. However, I am still in the process of determining the most effective method of conversion from widescreen high def to 4:3 SD.

If I understand it correctly, it should go something like this:

1. Shoot in HD observing the framing of the subject based on the 4:3 markers on the camera
2. Import the native .m2t stream into Vegas 6.0 in a project with its propoerties set to the 1080i 60i template as this is what the source will be.
3. Apply the pan/crop tool to the clip to set up the desired framing in 4:3 on each event.
4. Render to a new SD 4:3 .avi file
5. Edit the 4:3 SD footage as required

Any comments on the this workflow versus any other possibiliies?

As always, I appreciated the feedback on this forum!


Lance Spratt
__________________
Lance Spratt
Lance Spratt is offline  
Old April 1st, 2006, 01:40 AM   #1003
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Why don't you just downconvert from the camera while you are capturing the material?
You can elect for it to be converted to 4:3 on the fly. Saves all that time and hassle doing it in Vegas, for no real benefit...

Robin
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline  
Old April 1st, 2006, 08:31 AM   #1004
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
I agree with Robin:
  1. Shoot in HD observing the framing of the subject based on the 4:3 markers on the camera
  2. Import the DV down convert from the camera using the EDGE CROP method.
  3. Edit the 4:3 SD footage as required
To turn on the down convert option, when the camera is in VCR mode use the two menu options:

MENU / TRANSFER / I.LINK CONV / HDV->DV CONV / ON
MENU / TRANSFER / DOWN CONVERT / EDGE CROP

This will save you a LOT of time. I have these assigned to my P.MENU for easy access.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old April 1st, 2006, 08:36 AM   #1005
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Try our free Vegas script plug-in called DVDPrep. It selects the proper rendering templates for you. You can find it on the VASST Freeware page. DVDPrep takes all the guesswork out of rendering.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network