Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 120 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2004, 11:13 PM   #1786
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
you can use any ac3 encoder you want to make ac3 audio, so if you already have one, why buy another?

after awhile, you begin to realize that most of these editing packages that include dvd authoring software have too many limitations... vegas5+dvd could be the best of the bunch, but i bet that dvdlab pro runs rings around it when it comes to making serious dvd's.

most of us probably won't need that kind of capability, but if it's in your future plans, start looking at your options now.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 08:09 AM   #1787
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
A Better Setup for my PC?

I have a Asus P4PE with a Geforce 4 64 meg video card.
Pentium 4 2.4 Gig CPU.
40 GIG IDE ata100 Hard Drive.
1 stick of Crucial 512Meg. PC2700 DDR ram.

I am thinking I should get A SATA Hard Drive as an addition to my other. I am using Vegas 5.0 w DVDA.

Should I Upgrade my CPU to Hyperthreading Level, or Get more Ram first.

Could someone who is smarter than I (most poeple on this forum) maybe rank these steps in order of importance and possibly add others I'm not thinking of.
Chris Moore is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 08:12 AM   #1788
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
Tweaks To Computer Using XP Pro & Vegas 5 w DVDA?

Could anyone post links to tweaks I could or should make on an editing computer? I found some good info on the videoguys site. Is there any other good info availible for mining on the net?
Chris Moore is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 08:24 AM   #1789
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
More RAM can definitely help. Consider getting a second 512 Meg stick.

More hard drive will be NEEDED. The 40 Gig drive will be too small to do any serious work. Get a second drive for your media.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 08:31 AM   #1790
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I make no vouches for any of these places but simply typing in "XP Tweaks" in Google yields MANY possible places. In addition to Video Guys tips, you might also check:

www.tweakxp.com/
www.blackviper.com/WinXP/supertweaks.htm
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/ ...powertoys.mspx
www.musicxp.net/
www.informationweek.com/story/IWK20011204S0009
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 09:30 AM   #1791
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Palm Desert, CA.
Posts: 46
Settings

Hello,
I'm a new user and have been using vegas for a few weeks now. I was wondering if someone could help me out and give me some examples of the settings they use in vegas to post video to the internet.

Most of my work will be online at my website. Clips may be 5 minutes. Just not sure what setting may work best to get the best video for other viewers.

I have been experimenting a bit with different compressions, but not sure which is correct if any?

Thank you for your help,

Matt
Matthew Lombardo is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 11:10 AM   #1792
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 152
I agree, you definitely need more storage space. 1 hour of minidv footage = 13GB. I find it very difficult to do any project without at least 60GB minimum free.

(Which is why I recently bought a 300GB SATA drive for $206). If cost is a concern, you could even pick up a 200GB ATA drive for about $110.
__________________
John Lee

Levelse7en@gmail.com
John Lee is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 12:14 PM   #1793
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
I have an SATA port to use and its my understanding that they're faster. I will also Upgrade my ram. Any way to configure SATA and Original ATA drive? Example i've heard Only media on bigger drive.

Edward as much as you reply on this forum and others you must be injecting coffee!

Thanks for the input guys!
Chris Moore is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 12:33 PM   #1794
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
Shaky .avi after rendering

Hello,

So yeah like the subject. It did this, I reinstalled windows and vegas (clean on a new hardrive). And this is STILL happening!! Anyone have any ideas? Other formats don't have this problem.
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 01:12 PM   #1795
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Chris Moore : Edward as much as you reply on this forum and others you must be injecting coffee! -->>>

I don't even drink coffee!!!

Keep all of your OS/programs on your 40 gig drive. Use the new drive strictly for media files.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 11:55 PM   #1796
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
I have an SATA port to use and its my understanding that they're faster. I will also Upgrade my ram. Any way to configure SATA and Original ATA drive? Example i've heard Only media on bigger drive.
SATA is generally faster because they are the newer model drives. For DV work, you really won't see a practical speed difference between PATA and SATA.

A hyperthreading processor won't really help things, although a higher clock speed processor will. 800FSB versus 533FSB (front side bus) also makes a few percent difference in speed, as does hyperthreading.

I'd hold off upgrading as you're not going to see a big jump in performance right now (around 30% in render speed with a 3.2ghz Pentium processor... assuming it's compatible). Wait until faster processors come out, when you can upgrade your motherboard + processor + RAM at the same time (you'll likely need to do all three at the same time, as a newer motherboard may need newer DDR2 RAM).

2- Your system is likely good enough to edit video with. Vegas doesn't need a bleeding edge computer. Just get more hard drive space and you're set. Maybe dual monitors if you don't have that already.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old December 21st, 2004, 12:32 AM   #1797
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 241
If you rendered to UNCOMPRESSED .avi, most systems would have trouble playing that back in real time to an external monitor without some jittering. Does this happen when you render to standard DV format .avi's from Vegas?
Ken
Ken Plotin is offline  
Old December 21st, 2004, 04:52 AM   #1798
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Please take a look at our pretty extensive thread on Top Gear and
how they achieve "the look":

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=33117
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old December 21st, 2004, 05:12 AM   #1799
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That is correct indeed. The problem was probably not even the
MJPEG codec but that you had a wrong one. There are two codec
standard on Windows:

- Video for Windows (VfW, the old one)
- Directshow (the new one)

You probably already had a codec if you could play the movies in
mediaplayers, but it probably would've been a VfW codec (which
is often the case with MJPEG codecs). I'd bet you now got a
Directshow MJPEG codec, but ofcourse I could be wrong, hehe.

Glad it all worked out!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old December 21st, 2004, 05:16 AM   #1800
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Matthew: just so you know: i.Link = IEEE1394 = firewire
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network