Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 88 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2004, 04:05 PM   #1306
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
First of all, you don't have to split (like you did in Premiere).

If you WANT to split, simply split on the proper frame, add a velocity envelope to the clip on the right, right-click the default first node, choose "Set To..." and type in 0.

If you DON'T want to split, just add a velocity envelope to the clip, go to where you want the speed to stop, add a new node there set at 100%, move right 1 frame and add a new node there, right-click it, choose "Set To..." and type in 0.

You might want to click on the link under my name and check out the newsletters. I have velocity changes well covered in one of the issues.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 29th, 2004, 04:21 PM   #1307
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 19
Thank you Edward...I've just realized that Vegas approaches this totally different the Premiere...
And I just went to your site. Holy cow! Lots of info... thank you :)

Happy halloween guys!
Vance Osborne is offline  
Old October 29th, 2004, 09:59 PM   #1308
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
one thing which hasnt been mentioned is the deinterlacing of the still frame..

vegas has a tendency to be a lil too accurate with the fields, and sometimes has the tendency to "flicker" that still image..
It could just be me, with my settings, but i havent set anything to deinterlace.

what i do, is export the precise frame i need... then reimport it as an image file.
When you export, u just make sure that the frame itself isnt a blended field, else youll get flickering due to the high resolution. even selecting the option to reduce the interlace flickering doesnt do all that much to assist.

other times i use the velocity method, one i hit zero, i then drag the clip fo ras long as i need the still to go for.

Another trick which doing that is to use teh pan/crop tool to add motion to the still... makes for a nice Matrix esque feel.. ehehehe
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 12:29 AM   #1309
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Crested Butte, CO
Posts: 568
i bought a new Adaptec 3 port firewire card with NEC chipset and installed it. This is a Dell Inspiron 8600 laptop with built in firewire port, so theoretically I have 4 ports on two adapters.

Using the PCMCIA Adaptec card, the hard drive installed and read OK. Plugged in the camera, and, after a delay, it came online. Was able to capture from the cam to the firewire hard drive with no dropped frames.

Attempting PTT failed. There were huge numbers of dropped frames and blue frames, the frame on the camera's LCD was jumping all over the place, so I cancelled it.

I tried connecting the camera via the built-in port, but it does not get recognized.

Both devices are using IRQ 11. Maybe that's why they don't operate simultaneously. anyone know how to change the IRQ assigned to a device? Or other ideas?

Help.

Scott
Scott Brickert is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 01:08 AM   #1310
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 578
Thanks Edward,

I'm always learning new things in Vegas that make editing less grusome. Sometime even fun.

Terry
__________________
He's only mostly sDEADy.

sort of from "The Princess Bride"

www.indicam.com
Terry Thompson is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 08:03 AM   #1311
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The frame on which you freeze definitely makes a difference. There's always the "reduce interlace flicker" option. However, the best bet is to pick a frame that doesn't flicker to begin with.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 10:04 AM   #1312
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Contest almost over

The VASST Veg contest is nearly over, get your submissions in before Tuesday if you want a shot at winning. Don't forget to vote.
Thanks for the support on the sharing site, we moved to a new server with additional bandwidth, and had our biggest download day ever yesterday. Amazing where everyone is coming in from!
http://www.vasst.com/login.htm
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 10:25 AM   #1313
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,135
Question about Graphics on Vegas 5.

Hello all. I am doing an educational video for the communities living around the Oak Ridge Reservation in TN. Remember, this is where they built the atomic bomb. One of the shots I need is an aireal of the entire area and, overlaying arrows indicating wind direction. So the question is, can I create annimated arrows on Vegas 5, or do I need another program? Bob
Bob Safay is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 02:00 PM   #1314
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 265
You can find many arrows in a font called Wingdings 3. Use them with the text genetrator and you can move them with the placement function (keyframes) or pan/crop.
Tor Salomonsen is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 07:51 PM   #1315
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Pan/Crop can also be used to change the direction of the arrows as well as the position.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 30th, 2004, 10:47 PM   #1316
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Just that easy! Thanks!!
Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline  
Old October 31st, 2004, 05:03 AM   #1317
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 265
If you are using shadow effect (in text gen) rotating in pan/crop will change the direction of the shadow as well, which can look odd. Shadow in track motion will keep its position in relation to the frame, even when the image is rotated in pan/crop.
Tor Salomonsen is offline  
Old October 31st, 2004, 07:51 AM   #1318
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm still not sure what you are trying to do Ray. What does
"that might come out to 24fps and widescreen" mean??

There is a format "called" miniDVD that allows you to put a DVD
structure on a CD. HOWEVER, this will NOT be playable in 99% of
the players out there and will store a very short clip only.

It is far better to go with a DVD burner which are cheap these days!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old October 31st, 2004, 09:24 AM   #1319
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,135
WOW, thanks guys. Not only do I have the arrows I need but by doing a series of arrows and using overlaps I get the annimation also. What a great program. Thanks again. Bob
Bob Safay is offline  
Old October 31st, 2004, 09:43 AM   #1320
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
No consumer/prosumer application will do dts. Only the highend
stuff. If you do this for a personal project I would just encode
the WAV file to Dolby Digital AC3 and be done with it.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network