Firstlight = Awesome at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 23rd, 2010, 12:45 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 91
Firstlight = Awesome

Since all of my posts on this board were pretty much problem/issue-based.. just thought i'd do a 180 and go the "showcase" route and say after about a day messin with Firstlight.. i may hardly ever touch magic bullet again.. the program kicks ass... makes my 5d footage look awesome.

btw, saying that 180 analogy reminded me of how the first time i attempted to use that analogy is used 360 instead
Marc de Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 06:32 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 190
good deal. This is a question for cineform but i'm sure they'll see this, so is there an upgrade path for Neo Scene customers?
Keith Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 06:56 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
All NeoScene users get a full $129 credit toward Neo HD, which includes FirstLight.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 06:53 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 113
I agree with Marc. Had I realized how great FirstLight was, I wouldn't have wasted money on Magic Bullet. I give major credit to Cineform also for the great discount incentive for existing NeoScene customers. It certainly made my decision much easier.
Brant Gajda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 10:09 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 174
I haven't really played that much with first light - but id really be interested in knowing what you do when you need to key frame exposure when you have a continuous shot that requires it? Also what do you do when you need to lighten up a specific region (someones face) and track the movement of it over the clip?

As I understand it the power of FL is all in the real-time but the trade off is that you are hamstrung when you need to do anything complex.
Paul Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 11:21 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Paul, hardly hamstrung, you can still use everything else with FirstLight. Do you base corrections in FirstLight for speed and power windows in your NLE for the elements that need extra work. Keyframing will be in V5.0.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 11:06 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
There I was perfectly satisfied with ignoring First Light

So I was perfectly happy with NeoScene, until I read this thread. So I downloaded the NeoHD trial..... dang it.... now I will be dissatisfied again.......
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 10:32 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
All NeoScene users do get a $129 credit towards their NeoHD upgrade -- a little more incentive.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 03:43 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 91
if anyone's bored, this is the project i used firstlight (for the first time) on, that caused me to write this thread. as u will see i went sorta nuts with the presets, lol. but, in all honesty, i will vouch for the 5dm2/premierecs4/prospecthd/firstlight/encorecs4-bluray combo.. as i was able to post this under a very very tight deadline, with no major or minor problems... not even audio sync issues!

(btw, u have to go straight to the link, i turned off the embed on purpose)

Marc de Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 10:32 AM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Hey that is petty slick, nice work.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 01:36 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 113
Amazing work Marc!!
Brant Gajda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 05:11 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 91
thanks guys! appreciate it.
Marc de Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 09:52 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 7
First Light is better than sex. David, make a t-shirt.
__________________
~ JR | Non-Profit Media and Film Producer
Nuendo, Avid, Adobe, Mac, Cineform, KRK, RME, Sony, AT, Matrox, CalDigit, etc., etc.
Jay Friesen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2010, 06:44 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Hey Marc... Michael Bay would be proud! ;)

Seriously though, very nicely done, congrats!
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2010, 07:42 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kathmandu Nepal
Posts: 7
Having problem with Cineform First Light.

First Light is a great piece color correction tool, but i'm having problem exporting cineformHD files out of premiere with the firs light corrected footage.When i playback the footage in timeline, its fine looks fantastic with the corrections, but when I export it, the correction doesn't show up, the file is exported without the corrections.And when I pause in the premiere timeline nothing shows up, it only shows up when I press the space bar to play the timeline.Can anybody tell me what is wrong with the firstlight?

2 quadcore Intel Xeon 2ghz
8GB RAM
Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
Cineform Prospect HD 4.3
Adobe Premiere Pro CS3
AJA Xena HS

Nimesh Shrestha
Nimesh Shrestha is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network