NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2004 - Page 110 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 19th, 2004, 07:11 AM   #1636
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 107
Can't you just drag the clip(s) into a new timeline and then copy/paste the audio tracks to your project?
Pat Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 09:34 AM   #1637
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 102
Hi Pat,

I'm not sure if I understand you correctly. You mean drag the clips from the browser into a new timeline? This would work if the in and out points were still set for each clip, but they no longer are. Most of the clips are quite long, and I used several parts of each one, which means I set the in and out points many times.
__________________
Media Kobo
Japan
Rob Moreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 09:44 AM   #1638
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 111
Solved it. Since FCP4.5HD accepted the video, I figured if I could somehow just extract the sound, I would then be able to sync it up in FCP.

Luckily, cleaner6 worked to extract the sound from the .mpg file into an .aiff sound file which I then synched up with the video. Worked well. Printed the whole thing to tape in DVCAM and handed it over to my client this morning. Done. Thanks Jeff!
__________________
Thomas
Thomas Berg Petersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 12:11 PM   #1639
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
That sounds right. You should be good to go.

8-Bit uncompressed.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 07:18 PM   #1640
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I don't have scsi drives, so I'm having to do it with my camera and do a conversion.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 10:08 PM   #1641
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
I'm not sure if I understand... however all editing in FCP is "non destructive" so unless you actually went in with the Finder and deleted your files, then the audio you originally captured is still there.

On the timeline, place the playhead so that it snaps to the beginning of the clip you want to fix. Now double-click anywhere on the clip and it opens in the viewer. Note the timecode. Now move the playhead to the end of the clip in the timeline, doubleclick again and note the timeline in the viewer. You can then go back to the original clip that was used in your sequence, set the in and out points to match, then drag or paste the original to the timeline.

Notice that when you open a clip by double clicking it from the timeline that the viewer window shows its in and out points right below the image. I'll bet there's an easier way, but I can't think of it right now ;-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 10:11 PM   #1642
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
I'm not sure if I understand... however all editing in FCP in "non destructive" so unless you actually went in with the Finder and deleted your files, then the audio you originally captured is still there.

On the timeline, place the playhead so that it snaps to the beginning of the clip you want to fix. Now double-click anywhere on the clip and it opens in the viewer. Note the timecode. Now move the playhead to the end of the clip in the timeline, doubleclick again and note the timeline in the viewer. You can then go back to the original clip that was used in your sequence, set the in and out points to match, then drag or paste the original to the timeline.

Notice that when you open a clip by double clicking it from the timeline that the viewer window shows its in and out points right below the image. I'll bet there's an easier way, but I can't think of it right now ;-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2004, 08:57 AM   #1643
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 102
Thanks for the suggestion. I thought there may be a quicker way (like a "restore audio" function), but this seems like it will work with a bit of effort.
__________________
Media Kobo
Japan
Rob Moreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2004, 10:53 AM   #1644
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
after effects render problem

I am having trouble rendering my after effects compositions (mostly ramped slow mo's and some color corrections) to use in FCP. everytime i choose "best settings and full quality" from the render queue i end up with a lot of noise and jumps in the video clip. also, these are only like 4 second clips so its not like i am taxing my powerbook and making it work super hard.
any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2004, 07:06 PM   #1645
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 166
Rob,
Click on the video clip in the timeline. Press "f". The original clip with in/out points set will show in the viewer. From there you can restore the audio, a number of ways -- depends on the target audio and video tracks, and if something is already there, etc. But, You can now see the original audio in the viewer. Not quite as nice as a "Restore" audio command...
__________________
Michael A Westphal
Michael Westphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2004, 07:21 PM   #1646
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 102
Michael, thanks for your suggestion!

This does exactly what I need, with minimum effort.

Thanks!
__________________
Media Kobo
Japan
Rob Moreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 04:08 AM   #1647
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It shouldn't be that much of a difference. Ofcourse if you can it is
always best to match the tutorial/book/video/etc. to your exact
version to make sure it follows closely the program you have.

Are you going to get this second-hand or buy this new? If new
then just ask the company how well it works with 6.5? It is at
least better to work with a 6.0 training for a 6.5 version since
the basics should be the same, but I don't know that for sure
(not used AE in a long time).

I hope someone who has experience with both versions can give
you a better insight into what is different!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 07:54 AM   #1648
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 170
Thanks Rob. I'm going to get it new but I don't think there are any 6.5 training videos thus my question. I'll definitely ask if they are close enough for me to use one for another :)

Dmitry
Dmitry Yun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 02:53 PM   #1649
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
nobody?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 06:13 AM   #1650
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I don't think there are many Mac After Effects users, so it might
not be that anyone knows. Did you try asking the question on
the Adobe forums?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network