Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 109 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2005, 07:18 PM   #1621
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 215
Edward wrote:

>>>>and just capture normally via firewire.

Edward, is this approach lossless?

Brian
Brian Mitchell Warshawsky is offline  
Old May 18th, 2005, 09:14 PM   #1622
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You're starting with MPEG2 - you've already lost. So the question is: do you capture standard or try locating some software that will convert it for you by uncompressing each frame from MPEG2 and recompressing to DV-AVI. You could probably argue that either method is better. I usually opt for the "easy" way out and connect the DVD player to my deck, hit capture on the computer, and hit play on the DVD player.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 19th, 2005, 07:53 AM   #1623
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Export to Flv from Vegas Possible?

Is it Possible to Render out FLV in Vegas?


Thanks
Harry Mullins is offline  
Old May 19th, 2005, 08:11 AM   #1624
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I don't believe you can do so directly. You should be able to frameserve to another application that can, though.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 19th, 2005, 08:18 AM   #1625
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
This is what I thought. Thank you for clearing it up..Thanks
Harry Mullins is offline  
Old May 19th, 2005, 10:42 AM   #1626
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 66
All you need to do to use the clips in vegas is to change the .vob extension to .mpg, then you should be able to import them directly into vegas
Jeremy Rank is offline  
Old May 19th, 2005, 11:04 AM   #1627
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Just Load the Vob file into VirtualDubmod and save out the AC3 to Wav then load that into Vegas,Vegas will import Vobs just not the AC3 Muxed with it..
Harry Mullins is offline  
Old May 19th, 2005, 11:39 AM   #1628
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Rank
All you need to do to use the clips in vegas is to change the .vob extension to .mpg, then you should be able to import them directly into vegas
That's basically what I said up above. However, there's really no reason to change the extension - you can just drag the VOB straight to the Vegas timeline. But it's STILL not a good format for editing. And AC3 audio won't be imported.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 20th, 2005, 03:54 PM   #1629
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
I use SWISHmax with the Typewriter effect when I need to do this. Just drop the SWF file in Vegas and you have an instant typewriter title. It even has a cursor that follows the typing.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 11:07 AM   #1630
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston TX and New Orleans LA
Posts: 300
>>Removing a hum sound from a bad mic connection

I have an interview that has a constant hum sound in it from a bad connection.

What techniques can I use to remove this or make it sound better?


thanks DVI!
Brent Marks is offline  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 11:40 AM   #1631
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Marks
I have an interview that has a constant hum sound in it from a bad connection.

What techniques can I use to remove this or make it sound better?


thanks DVI!
Sony make a noise reduction module--if anything can do it it should. It isn't cheap--I think 199--but its an excellent investment.
David Mintzer is offline  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 12:01 PM   #1632
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
for a beta/digibeta do NOT use the mpeg (DVD) .. use the avi ..
you can get anything transferred for $$$$ ... if you want to save $$ .. find a place that has either beta or digibeta machines hooked up to their NLE .. if they use avid then you would go to avids site and download their CODEC (meridian ?) if they use FCP or other NLE with decklink then go to decklink and download their blackmagic codec ... you have to render out at 720x486 (not 720x480) using the codec that matches their NLE to beta/digibeta deck ... you deliver to them a external 1394 drive and they'll transfer the files to their HD's then onto beta or digibeta. figure around 200hr .. if 30 min piece figure 45 min ... if you do not render it out to their NLE/hardware card codec then figure another 1-2 hr of rendering time on their avid/fcp at 200hr ... also note that the new rendered file will be approx 60-65gigs
Don Donatello is offline  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 12:28 PM   #1633
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 96
Face Blur

What is the easiest way to blur a face or a product brand using Sony Vegas 5
Darrin McMillan is offline  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 01:12 PM   #1634
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Look at Vol 1 #12 of my newsletters. I have an article in that issue about blurring faces. Check the link under my name.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 01:54 PM   #1635
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Brent,
Something you can try:

Use a comb filter.
http://www.dv.com/news/news_item.jht.../2002/rose0902 dv.com requires registration.
Multi-tap delay filter in Vegas should do the delay for you.

Or you could try using a bunch of parametric filters.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network