Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 73 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 5th, 2006, 12:53 PM   #1081
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
+DVD also gives the AC3 encoder!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 12:55 PM   #1082
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Richard, the "HD" in the Vegas 6 marketing really takes away from what 6 is all about. HD is a great buzzword, but you'll be happy with 6 regardless. Using Liquid here as well, and really unhappy with the instability, even on a dual proc, fast machine. Sexy looking tho...:-)

The +DVD is important if you'll be authoring DVDs, because it contains the AC3 license, and you'll love the encoding. If you don't plan on doing any DVDs, then don't worry about it, but the two do go together as a suite, if you want the best of all worlds.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 01:32 PM   #1083
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 41
MainConcept AVC/AAC MP4 for IPOD's?

Has anyone tried rendering footage in Vegas to MPEG4 to play on an IPOD, PocketPC, or similar? I rendered a short clip and emailed to a friend of mine that has an IPOD but he indicated that only the audio worked. Thanks!

Paul
Paul Carlberg is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 04:08 PM   #1084
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 26
Vegas 5 and Multi-Processors

Does anyone know if Vegas 5 is optimized to take advantage of multiprocessor pc's? If so, how do I set the software to take advantage of the second processor. I have a Dual AMD Opteron 64, and I've heard rumors of close to real time rendering. What are some of your experiences.

Thanks for any help/insight you can offer.
Chris Sigmon is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 04:25 PM   #1085
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas 6 has been but Vegas 5 was not. It WILL use both - one for video and one for audio which means one will be working really hard and one will be basically doing nothing. So... expect around 50% CPU usage (of course you could always open another instance of Vegas and continue editing!)
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 04:59 PM   #1086
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
I had *really* good luck with this. Documented here http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=61204

I just used the template, then later tried again at reduced bitrate, check out the thread.

Does your friend know how to import video into an iPod? As I recall you have to go through iTunes, but my local iPod owner/operator is at school right now...
Seth Bloombaum is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 08:09 PM   #1087
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 105
Hey Brian,

I got the same offer. It is a good price for 6.0, but I believe I want the +DVD and AC-3 Audio package with it.

I think you need the AC-3 Audio function to use the Dolby audio encoding for DVD surround sound ability.

I do have the DVD Architect Studio which came with Platinum, and like it really well.

Perhaps some of the experts can correct me if I am wrong. If all I do need (want) is Vegas 6.0, then that is the route I would go, as it is a couple of hundred dollars cheaper. Anyone?
Jamie Hellmich is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 09:14 PM   #1088
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Hellmich
I think you need the AC-3 Audio function to use the Dolby audio encoding for DVD surround sound ability.
You are correct. For the AC3, you need the "+DVD"
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 09:15 PM   #1089
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 105
Thanks Edward,

I am going to order as shown from B&H.

Jamie
Jamie Hellmich is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 09:16 PM   #1090
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
NeroExpress DVD questions regarding video disk size

Hello everyone. I actually have a question regarding Nero. I am trying to make a DVD movie that is a compilation of home videos. Nero has indicated to me that it is too large to fit on a 4.7 GB DVD and that either a DVD-9 disk must be used or quality will have to be reduced. I can't use DVD-9 disks, I do not want to loose quality and I have many added features (transitions, titles, chapters, etc.) that would be tedious to recreate so I am simply removing scenes that I can do without. Unfortunately, the size of the project does not reduce when I remove these clips. I literally removed a clip that was 2 GB and the size of the project did not change at all. In some cases it actually goes up when I remove clips. Is there some way to have Nero recalculate the project size without recreating it or reducing quality? Also, do you have any tips for reducing the project size of which I may not be aware?

Please note that I like to get as many responses as possible. If someone else has responded to this question, please feel free to respond anyway.

Thank you very much.

Peter Diamond
Peter Diamond is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 10:25 PM   #1091
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 150
will Vegas run with this OS/board

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Dual Core Processor - XP pro x 64?
Fred Helm is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 10:36 PM   #1092
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
As I understand it that mobo & processor would be a solid performer with Vegas, but perhaps not optimal for native HDV. Still, it should chew through standard DV and HD intermediates (Cineform) for HDV just fine.

However, you want to stay away from the 64bit version of windows. At best, it does nothing for Vegas, at worst, Vegas may not run, according to reports such as this http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=47922.
Seth Bloombaum is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 10:40 PM   #1093
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth Bloombaum
As I understand it that mobo & processor would be a solid performer with Vegas, but perhaps not optimal for native HDV. Still, it should chew through standard DV and HD intermediates (Cineform) for HDV just fine.

However, you want to stay away from the 64bit version of windows. At best, it does nothing for Vegas, at worst, Vegas may not run, according to reports such as this http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=47922.
can you suggest what to replace with since i have my builder on line...? mobo that is...
Fred Helm is offline  
Old April 5th, 2006, 10:49 PM   #1094
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 150
Building Comp For Vegas

I guess its a no go for 64 OS's? Then what should I have built for vegas?
Fred Helm is offline  
Old April 6th, 2006, 12:07 AM   #1095
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
AC-3 Rendering Scripts

Are there any decent scripts available to automatically render the project audio upon completion of the MPEG-2 render?

I'm using Vegas 6.0d (build 210) and DVDA 3.

TIA
Neil
Neil McLean is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network