Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2004 - Page 32 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 15th, 2004, 11:42 PM   #466
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Skokie, IL
Posts: 23
How to do a 24 style countdown clock in Adobe Premiere Pro or After Effects 6?

Any easy way to do this?
Johnny Chiang is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 01:09 PM   #467
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles Ca
Posts: 126
24pa premiere plugin?

I have herd there is some sort of plugin for 24p advanced footage for premiere. is this true? whats it called?what version of premiere does this work in?
__________________
Rich Lee

http://www.rich-lee.com
Rich Lee is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 03:52 PM   #468
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
"No Importer Found that Supports this File type"

Hi guys--I am trying to import an mpeg2 file that I have on CD into Premiere Pro, but I keep getting this error message: "No Importer Found that Supports this File Type." What gives? Obviously Premiere supports mpeg2,right? thanks for the help,

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 03:56 PM   #469
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Does it play alright through windows media player? What sort of MPEG 2 file is it? What is its file extension name (*.mp2, *.mpeg, *.mpg....)?

Cheers,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 06:21 PM   #470
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 26
how to export without recompressing?

This is probably a dumb question but I am absolutely new to Premiere. Here's what I have: I shot my friends birthday and now I am trying to edit it. Since I don't have a list of all scenes with timecode I guess my best option is to capture it all together, right? Then I am trying to break this huge file into smaller ones that contain only one scene, so i put a big file in the timeline and cut it, then select small piece and go to "export movie" trying to save as a separate file. But it looks like premiere starts recompressing it again. I am afraid to lose quality doing this, so I'd appreciate your help. Is my procedure optimal for what I am trying to do? How to make premiere export without recompressing?
Alexey Ravichev is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 06:25 PM   #471
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Midcoast, Maine
Posts: 89
It's called Premiere Pro version 1.5. Should be out soon.
Michael Richard is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 07:07 PM   #472
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
Try Gspot

Run the movie through this program and it will tell you if you have any codecs missing:

http://www.headbands.com/gspot/
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline  
Old May 17th, 2004, 06:43 AM   #473
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
With the latest version of Premiere you can also automatically
break up the clips while capturing (where you stopped and
started the camera) like Vegas and Scenalyzer do. That can be
handy depending on how you want to work.

Premiere should not recompress, but that totally depends on the
following:

1) your version of Premiere

2) your capture settings

3) your project settings

4) your export settings

So tell us what you are doing at those 4 steps and we'll see if
we can figure it out.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 17th, 2004, 06:44 AM   #474
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I doubt it will also run with Media Player. The first question we
need answering is which version of premiere you are running...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 17th, 2004, 12:11 PM   #475
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Hey guys--The file will play in Windows Media Player. I'm running Premiere Pro, I think version 7 (this is just a guess). I believe the file extension was .mp2, and I think we tried changing this to .mpeg hoping it would help, but it didn't. Perhaps we should try different file extensions? Thanks!

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Old May 18th, 2004, 03:27 AM   #476
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You can try .mpg but I doubt it will work. The question is what
kind of MPEG2 file it is. It can be an elementery stream, program
stream or transport stream and I doubt it will read all three forms.

Any chance this came from a digital sattelite / cable source and
is an mpeg2 transport stream? Almost no programs can handle
that format.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 18th, 2004, 09:47 PM   #477
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Thanks for the reply Rob. I'm not sure specifically what kind of .mpeg file it is. It was output from Premiere 6.5 as an mpeg, so whatever Premiere outputs it as would be the format. I'm thinking I will just try to import it into Avid Xpress Pro and transcode it into something else, assuming Xpress Pro can understand it. I will report back with findings.

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Old May 19th, 2004, 01:24 AM   #478
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4
total training

I recommend you to go for the total training program. I heard it's very good. I didn't buy it coze it's too expensive for me.


http://www.totaltraining.com

Ashfaq
Indian Ashfaq is offline  
Old May 19th, 2004, 04:09 AM   #479
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It should be an elementery stream (only video) or a program
stream (video & audio normally) in that case. Strange Premiere
does not want to read it back. I'm basically out of suggestions
except for a re-install of Premiere (and perhaps Windows).

Good luck!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 19th, 2004, 01:08 PM   #480
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Thanks Rob. I think it is an elementary stream as it only contains video. I tried importing into Avid and it didn't recognize it either. We are going to try importing and transcoding in Cleaner, hopefully that does the trick.

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network