NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2003 - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2003, 02:10 PM   #91
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Posts: 648
Ahh i get it now. I wasnt sure if it mirrored the desktop or could display a seperate image.Thanks for the info. I will continue to use the pass thru on my sony pc-110 which i currently use as a deck. Can long powered(AC) on times cause any type of damage to a camera?
Matt Stahley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2003, 04:27 PM   #92
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Re: Radeon 9000

I have a G4/733 with a Radeon 7000 Mac Edition in a PCI slot. Have been very happy with this setup as it lets me add a second computer monitor as well as s-video out. Each screen can have its own independent resolution and color profile. The "ATI Displays" control panel gives you lots of control over the s-video and I generally set this as my external video in FCP. Am able to get nicer output for s-vhs tapes this way by tweaking the color, brightness, screen size, etc. You may want to look into this option as I think its cheaper than the 9000 or 8500.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2003, 04:27 PM   #93
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 94
Powerbook

hey, i've been thinking about upgrading from my g4/500 single to a new 15inch 1ghz powerbook. my question is this, in that setup, how do people usually capture their dv? i currently have my deck-cam plugged into one FW port, and i capture to a 7200rpm Western Digital FW drive plugged into the other port. i've read that it can be sketchy daisy-chaining the cam and drive. does anyone use this same setup and have any advice for me? also, do you think i'm safe for the single processor or will i need dualies to run all the tricks in FCP4?

- brian
__________________
This is the way the world ends.
Brian Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2003, 05:47 PM   #94
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Brian,
I have the 1GHz PowerBook and have not had trouble capturing DV footage from a cam to a daisy-chained FireWire drive. I've used both a 5400 rpm and a 7200 rpm drive for capture with the PowerBook and had no trouble with either.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 04:28 PM   #95
vince remo
 
Posts: n/a
how to

Hi guys... i have a powerbook g3 with firewire ports. I use a sony dcr trv103 and canon xl1s. I can capture but i cant play back to the cameras via firewire. Do you guys know of a way to do that? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanx

Vince
  Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 04:50 PM   #96
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Vince,
I'm not sure what the trouble may be. But I suspect it may be related to the cam's certification status with FCP 3.x. Generally this indicates a camera's full compliance with the IEEE 1394 protocol.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 09:20 AM   #97
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Need Closed Captioning ? New software available.

Leapfrog Productions has just released Closed Captioning software for OSX. A free demo is available here.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 04:09 PM   #98
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fowlerville, MI
Posts: 51
NTSC Standard = 720 x 480 ?

Is this the standard resolution the GL2 captures video in? If I save a frame in iMovie3, it defaults to 640x480. I've seen this 720 x 480 number used in several threads, and assumes it was the NTSC standard, but I just happened to notice these settings for new images in PS7:

720 x 540 Std. NTSC 601
720 x 534 Std. NTSC DV/DVD
864 x 486 Wide NTSC 601
864 x 480 Wide NTSC DV/DVD
768 x 576 Std. PAL
1024 x 576 Wide PAL
1280 x 720 HDTV 720P
1920 x 1080 HDTV 1080i

No option for 720 x 480. Any ideas? Thank!!

Kirk
Kirk Messner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 10:08 PM   #99
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
To my knowledge, the only thing that NTSC demands is 480 lines. It isn't concerned with the resolution of each line (720, 640, etc.) because it is analog.

Digital NTSC (DVDs) is supposed to be 720 x 480, as is the DV format, so that's where the number comes from. The pixels have an aspect ratio of approximately .9 for 4x3, and 1.2 for 16x9.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2003, 06:24 AM   #100
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm assuming you mean Photoshop when you are talking about
PS7? What people generally do is manipulate pictures in Photoshop
at a different resolution than video. The resolutions you name
for NTSC should be resampled/resized to 720x480 in your NLE
which will result in a 0.9 pixel aspect instead of the computer
default of 1.0. Just use it at that resolution and have your NLE
resize the images (Premiere -> Lock aspect ratio).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2003, 09:37 AM   #101
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 94
i'm glad to hear that there's no problems. of course those new dual 1.42's are looking pretty sweet... =)
__________________
This is the way the world ends.
Brian Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2003, 11:51 PM   #102
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Anything that would make that job easier is worth it. I've only taken one genuine swing at it with DVD Studio Pro. Painful. Tedious. A job one is sentenced to by a court rather than elects to undertake.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2003, 02:59 AM   #103
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cupertino, California, USA
Posts: 301
Do they only make it for OSX? No free demos for me and my PC?
__________________
Scott Silverman
Shining Star Digital Video Productions
Bay Area, CA
Scott Silverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2003, 11:41 AM   #104
Rich Conley
 
Posts: n/a
Firewire drives... good/bad for DV?

Has anyone had any experience with Maxtor 120GIG firewire external drives with 911 princeton chipset casings for an Express DV setup?

or any fierewre drives used for digital video.

How do they respond? Do they work well if a hub is used to connect multiple drives?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2003, 11:53 AM   #105
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The only thing that I know is that some people on the board
use firewire drives (or normal harddisk in a firewire case) without
any problems. I do not have the answer to your other questions...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network