Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 103 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 12th, 2005, 01:34 PM   #1531
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
Does anyone exist at http://mediasoftware.sonypictures.com ?

Never aswer the phone, just get on hold forever listening to that stupid music.

Never answer emails.


If there is any sign of life over there then post here and let me know.
Greg Jacobson is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 01:39 PM   #1532
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Short answer: Yes.

Longer answer: My understanding is that they only answer during normal business hours. Plus there is an hour period of time during lunch during which the phone is not answered.

Confirmed (straight from Sony's website):
Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 01:42 PM   #1533
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
There is ONE version of Vegas - just different pricing depending on qualifications. So, no, there will be no limitations.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 02:10 PM   #1534
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Posts: 118
Thanks for the info, Ed.
David Bird
David Bird is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 03:54 PM   #1535
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
I've gotten pretty good support from them (when I had an install issue with CDA 5.2, and once on a SF plug-in), but you do need to call during business hours. Unfortunately, business hours don't include weekends.
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 04:00 PM   #1536
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
Steve - maybe someone else could help, but I can't understand how Bezier masks would be used in a "breaking apart a puzzle" effect.

Admittedly, I haven't thought this out, but what I would do is make the puzzle pieces in Photoshop from the image. It would be easy enough to draw the pieces with the pen tool, turn the path into a selection, then CTRL-J to make a new layer for that piece. Then you could, one by one, save each piece/layer as a PNG. The transparency of the layer remains transparent in Vegas.

Then you could import each PNG as a track in Vegas, and could animate each piece independently, rotate, pan, 3D motion, spin, etc. It'd be easy to make them all end up where you wanted, joined together, by just stacking them up (each fills in the other's transparent areas).

This way, there's no need to use an "add" blend mode or anything unusual like that.

HTH. And like I said, I gave it about 10 seconds of thought. There may be a lots easier way to do it. ;-D
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 04:18 PM   #1537
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Steve, how about e-mailing be the VEG file so I can play with it?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 09:38 PM   #1538
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 100
Edward, It's in the mail. If you have trouble getting it let me know and I'll put it up somewhere for downloading.

Brian, I know I'm probably going about this the wrong way. I'll think a bit about your idea.

Thanks
__________________
Steve


pdx10, EOS10D
Steve Roffler is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 01:37 AM   #1539
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 28
Vegas deinterlace automatically?

Can someone help me out please?

Recently I switched over to Vegas 6 (yes, I'm a new user) and when I was importing some video clips from my camcorder to the computer, I noticed that the clips captured seemed to be deinterlaced. My shots are done in 30fps interlaced, and when I watch the raw uncompressed footage, I don't see the horizontal lines, which I used to when I captured clips from Premiere Pro.

My question is, does Vegas 6 automatically deinterlace when caputring clips to the computer and if so, does this degrade the video quality? Am I supposed to see the horizontal lines showing up when there's a lot of camera movement/action going on?
Mike Sun is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 02:07 AM   #1540
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 100
Capture via firewire just transfers the video from your camcorder tape to your computer. Both are the same format (DV AVI) so there is no loss of resolution. The video is not deinterlaced upon transfer.

Horizontal lines don't sound good. I've never seen this in my transfers.
__________________
Steve


pdx10, EOS10D
Steve Roffler is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 02:10 AM   #1541
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
Mike,
The capture window is usually of a low enough resolution to get rid of any interlace lines if that's what you're talking about, but it sounds like you mean the preview window. At the top there is a resolution/quality drop down - if you select best/full it will show the full resolution and hence any interlace artifacts.

BTW I have Vegas 5, I haven't used 6 yet but I guess this still applies..

Cheers.
Kyle Ringin is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 06:20 AM   #1542
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Collingswood, NJ
Posts: 99
Thumbnails on timeline are gone

One never knows....is this just something I bumped on a menu somewhere or is this going to be a crisis of epic proportions?

Anyone know what may have happened?
Charley Gallagher is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 08:07 AM   #1543
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Steve, I never saw it. Can you send again and make sure "Vegas" is in the subject line somewhere?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 08:09 AM   #1544
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Options - Preferences - Draw waveforms and frames in events.

Make sure it is turned ON.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 09:40 AM   #1545
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 100
Edward,

I resent the files. The veg file is around 4 megs, don't know if that is the problem. Or it could be I took out some of the spaces in your email address.

Hope they get there this time.

Thanks,

Steve
__________________
Steve


pdx10, EOS10D
Steve Roffler is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network