Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 57 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2005, 04:26 PM   #841
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
And what colors might that be ? What settings should we use in Vagas CC to get cinelike colors from raw video footage ?
That's a pretty different topic. Emre gave you a link to a tutorial on how to change a particular range of colors. If you want to get "cinelike" colors then you will probably need to change all the colors in an image. First off you need to define what "cinelike" is... parts of it ma not be achievable/practical in post. If you want your films to look like Hollywood, then there's things like art direction and lighting which will make your footage look great but these things cannot be done in post.

If you want things to look like film, check out the film look forum here on dvinfo.net. Some people say to shoot film if you want the film look, since you cannot achieve the same effect with video.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old March 9th, 2005, 04:29 PM   #842
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Better yet, if you want things to look like film shoot Super 16mm!
David Mintzer is offline  
Old March 9th, 2005, 05:38 PM   #843
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
There are a couple of tutorials on the use of Vegas color correction tools:

http://www.wideopenwest.com/%7ewvg/tutorial-3.htm

http://www.wideopenwest.com/%7ewvg/tutorial-8.htm

http://www.wideopenwest.com/%7ewvg/tutorial-11.htm

http://www.martyhedler.com/homepage/...Tutorials.html

and a good one on Disk 5 of Gary's DVD,

http://www.vegastrainingandtools.com...video_dvd.html
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old March 9th, 2005, 06:18 PM   #844
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
progressive footage looks interlaced when sped up - why?

My progressive frames footages looks like interlaced footage when I speed it up in Vegas. I don't want this but I can't seem to find the way to correct it. Preferences have field order set to none (progressive).

Why is this happening and how can I help it?
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 02:14 AM   #845
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Branch NJ
Posts: 69
My story and my thoughts

I left premiere to go to canopus (edius, storm,,,).
Then I found Vegas and found reason. It was like working with qubase making music (the good old days)
Premiere is always in my pc in case i have "troubles". But with vegas have no troubles any more.
I really love this program, the DVD as well.
Anthony Mooney is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 07:40 AM   #846
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
how does it seem to be interlaced? Sometimes depending on ur preview panel quality settings, youll get interlacing if teh source material in interlaced and ur project is set to progressive...

i personally have never had an issue. i shoot with DVX100s and use vegas all the time..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 07:55 AM   #847
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Stupid Page file Glitch.. rant

okies, heres my gripe..

vegas kicks ass.. yes.. it surely does.. BUT

sometimes when working on a longform project with copious amounts of footage on the timelines, the pagefile will poo itslelf and give me a random frame within a clip which is totally unrelated.. thats the first gripe..

the second is when using teh Flash transition.. again, very similar to the randome frame, this one however cycles through a load of frames which can be a good effect if i wanted to use it.. but i dont.. it only happens with the flash transition though..

its not a ram thing.. im using corsair and have never had an issue.. but apparently this is a known issue.. :(

lets hope V6 alleviates this
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 08:21 AM   #848
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
I mean that when I open the rendered .AVI with any external player, it is obviously made up of fields. But only the shots that were sped up.

I suspect it has something to do with the properties of the individual clip that has been sped up, but I've been testing different settings to no avail...

I guess i'll have to take those clips into After Effects and speed them up there.
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 08:45 AM   #849
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I have also, on two or three occasions, seen a totally unrelated frame appear. I do believe it is a RAM related issue simply because exiting and restarting Vegas will make it go away.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 08:48 AM   #850
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Split Screen

I am filming a movie in which one actor plays two characters. Such as in the film Dead Ringers. How do I take the same scene, filmed with each different "character" and splice it to look like they are in the same location and shot. Thanks for your help.

MITCH
Mitch Buss is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 09:00 AM   #851
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas 5:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=28430

Vegas 3/4:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?threadid=4092
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 10:59 AM   #852
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Yep- I started a long thread a while back about this problem. Very frustrating- here's hoping to get it fixed in 6...because the problem traveled from 4 to 5 without being addressed.
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 12:10 PM   #853
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 62
Matrox rt .x10 and Vegas

I purchased the matrox rt. x10 a while back bundled with premiere because I got a pretty good deal. Iv not been liking premiere to much and have been thinking of going vegas. My question is, does anyone here have experience with matrox and vegas? is it an issue that it came with premiere, I mean does it work "better" with adobe? Just curious.

P4 3.2 Hyperthreaded
2gig Ram
Matrox rt. x10

Thanks!
Mark Errante is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 12:17 PM   #854
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas does not use any of the hardware acceleration cards. In fact, unless it standard OHCI compatible, you won't even be able to use it. You're better off just using a standard firewire card.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 12:19 PM   #855
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Of course, part of the problem is DUPLICATING the problem. This one is one of those that may be impossible to duplicate in house unless they just happen to get one.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network