Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 83 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 17th, 2005, 08:03 PM   #1231
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Marietta,New York
Posts: 5
no known problems

Hi, I've been using sony vegas 5.0 with xp pro and sp2 for over a year now and have'nt experienced any problems with my system....does anyone know
what editing software was originally sent with the xl1s? Thanks and hope this helps.

Dana
Dana Bergerstock is offline  
Old April 17th, 2005, 08:04 PM   #1232
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South-Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 216
I hope this doesn't sound dense...

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the info.

So help me to clarify please.

I've rendered out all 48 dances.

Do I place them on a Vegas timeline and re-render for creation in DVDA or should I go back to my veg files and place all my "Pre" dances on one timeline and THEN render with the chapter markers included?

Or...Can I simply put the rendered dances in DVDA and shake & bake with my chapter buttons and linking to next chapters, etc?

Thanks again.

sincerely,

ian
Ian Slessor is offline  
Old April 17th, 2005, 08:05 PM   #1233
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
FWIW, I've never had any problems running Vegas 5, and I use XP Pro SP2.
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline  
Old April 17th, 2005, 08:26 PM   #1234
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
For Gary Kleiner: crackle removal track effect?

Hi Gary,

On the audio segment of your training DVD there was a track effect for click and crackle removal shown. Boy, do I need that right now! How can I get it?
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old April 17th, 2005, 08:54 PM   #1235
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
THe plugin is called Vynil Restoration

its from sonic foundry/sony
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old April 17th, 2005, 09:53 PM   #1236
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
I've had no problems using Vegas (5.0d) with SP2 on XP Home (two machines).
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old April 17th, 2005, 10:48 PM   #1237
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
it depends on whether or not u want the clips to play after each other, or whether u need to integrate end actions to each clip.

if u need each clip to bounce back to the menu, stick with the individual files and play wiht the end actions.

If u need it to play one after the other, u can do it either way.. by creating a chain of titles playing one after the other, OR u can render out one big avi with all performances, with a chapter brea within each.

I would personally go the latter is its much easier to manage
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 12:46 AM   #1238
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Thanks, Peter. I could only find an upgrade to an existing plug-in, but will try to look again. Wish I had more time!
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 01:46 AM   #1239
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
MINE CAME WITH THE NOISE REDUCTION PLUGIN ABOUt 2YRS AGO..
OOPS xcuse the caps..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 03:20 AM   #1240
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Geraldine, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 88
Dropping frames and can't see why.......

Got a 250 gig external hard drive yesterday, hooked it up to my P4 1/5 gig RAM computer and proceeded to capture a tape off my XM2 with no dropped frames. Great. Went to capture some more today and am dropping frames all over the place. Changed tapes, double and triple checked that I hadn't left any other programs running, still no luck.
I did get the message "Do you want to save changes to Default.sfvidcap"
after the sucessful capture, don't know enough about how it all works to know if that has anything to do with the current problem. I have plenty of disk space and nothing more than the first tape on the ext drive.
Anybody know what I have forgotten or have changed without knowing it?
Thanks.................
Colin Rayner is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 05:50 AM   #1241
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Colin, you have the exact same set - XM2<>Vegas.

OK . .check:


* See if you can capture your SUCCESSFUL tape capture session.

* See if you can capture without Scene Detect.

* See if you can capture without Device Control.

* If you can - check with another DV device.

* Play the DV tape and see if the filmed captured has no "artifacts".

Something HAS changed between this and your successful capture. The only thing that has changed is this NEW tape!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 05:58 AM   #1242
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Using & Saving OTHER Default.sfvidcap files!

Oh!

When you get the, "I did get the message "Do you want to save changes to Default.sfvidcap" this is an opportunity to SAVE your settings - that you took to setup the successful capture - to be repeated the next time you capture.

You can rename this as something that makes sense for you, like ColinAtZoo - yeah? This way you know that the next time you want to capture a Zoo tape you've got the directories set up to send the Zoo tape to the existing Zoo directory - yeah?

Now if you DIDN'T save the settings - sounds like you didn't - you ARE trying to capture to some drive - now this could be your HD and NOT your other video drive. This WOULD in turn then give you some interruptions in the capture stream. You could be capturing to your system HD and your system is throwing wobblies at every second to interrupt the flow - hence the dropped frames!

Only a guess . . but it could be near the target though.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 06:12 AM   #1243
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
How did you hook it up? Firewire or USB(2)? I had similar dropped frame
problems with my Maxtor OneTouch and Canon XL1S when hooked up through
firewire. So the drive was on USB(2) after that and the camera (of course)
on firewire.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 07:16 AM   #1244
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes, you should be able to export just a WAV file. Look under export options
and choose the WAV audio type.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 18th, 2005, 07:38 AM   #1245
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Chris: that is default with Windows monitor spanning that you only get the
taskbar on the primary monitor.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network