Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 41 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2005, 08:17 AM   #601
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 99
The TV is a JVC I'Art and is not widescreen. As most of my stuff is broadcast on the local access channel, I use it to check titles, and get a better idea of what it looks like on TV.

I do make copies on DVD for distribution, but for broadcast, I output to tape. (back to Mini DV)

I'm using PPro 1.5 and I did do a search, but didn't find an answer that fit my particular question. I'd hate to have to resize every clip especially since I'm just guessing at the correct size.

Anyway, thanks for the reply. It's good to know there are people out there willing to help, even if I find out I can't do what I want to do. ;-)

Dan
__________________
Wow! That thing must have cost an arm and a leg! - - - It did! I used to have three of each.
Dan Mumford is offline  
Old April 2nd, 2005, 10:18 AM   #602
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Dan,

You might want to check the manual for your TV to see if it has a feature to letterbox widescreen content. Looking at the JVC web site I see that some of their analog TVs have this feature. Being a smaller model, though, there is probably less chance of this feature being included. Doesn't hurt to check, anyways.

EDIT: By the way, so you have a better idea of what to look for, JVC is calling the feature "16:9 Anamorphic DVD Mode."
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old April 2nd, 2005, 11:34 AM   #603
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England
Posts: 69
external monitor

how do you set up an external monitor (i.e. a TV!) for use with premiere pro? i would like to use a CRT TV to preview footage.

specifically, i would like to know what kind of connecting cable do you use? i understand the cable needs to go from the video card to the TV, but how does it attach? scart cable? do you need certain drivers for it to work?

ps i am in England, therefore PAL
Jon Turner is offline  
Old April 2nd, 2005, 01:38 PM   #604
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Jon,

If you have a hardware accelerator card i.e. Matrox RTX100, Pinnacle DV500, Canopus etc then you simply hook up your monitor via the RCA phono connections (Composite + L&R audio) or via S-video + Phono L&R audio on the braekout box.

If you only have a SCART connection on your TV then you need a Phono to SCART adapter (about 5).

If you don't have any hardware acceleration (i.e. you are running in software only mode). Then you can connect your DV camera (provided it is able to do analog pass-thru)to your firewire port (Make sure the camera is in VCR mode) and then connect the analog outputs on the camera (S-video, phono etc) to your TV. You also need to make sure that Premiere is set to Preview via firewire.

Hope this helps!

Ps nice to see a few more guys from the UK!
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old April 2nd, 2005, 02:12 PM   #605
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Pro 1.5
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline  
Old April 2nd, 2005, 02:28 PM   #606
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,385
Not exactly what you asked but relevant to the project trimer feature.....

I don't recommend running the project trimer feature unless you are absolutely sure you are done with video editing. If you have to go back and adjust clips your screwed if there is not enough video left either side of the clip.

Regards,

Mark
Mark Williams is offline  
Old April 3rd, 2005, 05:25 PM   #607
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Software for video encoding

Hi Everyone
I am looking for an all around video encoder software. One that will convert other video files to AVI or AVI to other video files. I use Premiere Pro 1.5 and sometimes I run across a file that PPro won't accept. I did a search on Google and came across this product.

http://www.sofotex.com/Easy-Video-Converter-download_L12496.html

Easy Video Converter. Sounds as if it will do all that I would like. However if anyone knows of a better software please let me know. Thank you for your help

Harry
Harry Lender is offline  
Old April 3rd, 2005, 09:24 PM   #608
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Guelph Ontario Canada
Posts: 38
Thanks

Thanks for the tip sir.
Steve Gill is offline  
Old April 3rd, 2005, 09:36 PM   #609
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Well Procoder is very high quality and very powerful, but it's nearly 20X the price of the software you've linked to - ouch!

http://www.canopus.us/us/products/procoder2/pm_procoder2.asp

Depending on what it is you want to open and recode, you may find Virtualdubmod helpful. It's freeware and can open mpeg1, mpeg2 and vob files, in addition to various flavors of avi.

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=65889&package_id=63653
Graham Hickling is offline  
Old April 3rd, 2005, 09:54 PM   #610
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
My tutorials are available online for $25 per month. You can probably get After Effects, Photoshop and Premiere Pro all in the same month and then cancel if you plan it right.

http://www.lynda.com
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline  
Old April 3rd, 2005, 10:05 PM   #611
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
I would reccomend using Procoder Express. Costs about $60 and it is excellent.
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline  
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:36 AM   #612
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Guelph Ontario Canada
Posts: 38
Nice Site

Wow!!!
Lots of info on this site....thats what I was looking for.

Thank you Mr Gotz.

Steve
Steve Gill is offline  
Old April 4th, 2005, 12:12 PM   #613
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 21
Darn it!

I've used the Mackie with a trial of Vegas and it works superbly but I think I'm right in saying it's the only NLE in its price class that does support it. I'm currently deciding which package to get and I'm pretty surprised that support for these kind of surfaces seems so rare. I know that Adobe Audition offers support, which in turn leads me to ask if anyone finds the Audition/Premiere workflow a smooth one, or is it a pain switching between two programs?


Ho hum..
Thom
Thom Seaman is offline  
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:14 PM   #614
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 9
How to capture w/HD1 into Premiere Pro?

I cannot believe the trouble I'm having in getting a straight answer on how to capture from the GR-HD1 into Premiere Pro 1.5.1? Can someone please give me a hand?
__________________
Andy Drefs
A great face for radio!
Andy Drefs is offline  
Old April 4th, 2005, 11:59 PM   #615
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Hi Andy. Some details would be a good start. Where are you at and what is wrong? Have you gone through the Adobe support and followed their steps?
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network