NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2004 - Page 47 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 26th, 2004, 09:26 PM   #691
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Final cut pro question

How do I export stills from my fcp footage to use on my website?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 10:13 PM   #692
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Ryan,

Place the playhead over the frame you want to capture.

Go to File>Export>Using Quicktime Conversion

and then at the bottom of that window choose "Still Image". Name it and save it to disk.

After that, import it into Photoshop, choose Image>Image Size

UNCLICK the constrain proportion box and resize the height to 534 (if you're using an NTSC camera).

Crop off the black sidebars, RECLICK the constrain proportion box and resize as needed, and then choose Save for Web.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 10:20 PM   #693
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
You may also want to de-interlace the image and if you have Photoshop got to Filter>Video>de-interlace to remove the interlacing.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 10:26 PM   #694
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Any pointers you can pass on, Jeff, about using the Deinterlace filter? I can never seem to get a smooth deinterlace. It always looks as though someone took their fingers and smudged the image in rows...like dragging your fingers through a wet painting.

I've had to resort to localized deinterlacing, and floating a semi-transparent layer with Gaussian blur to get really smooth results. But I'm sure there's something I'm overlooking with the filter.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 10:36 PM   #695
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Use a digital still camera (DSC). Here is a site that can probably answer all your questions. There is no simple answer, each image is different, based on the motion present in the video frame.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 11:24 PM   #696
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
<<Use a digital still camera>>

Pow! In the kisser! I'm down for the count. ;)

That's an informative site, Jeff. Thanks. For some reason, I couldn't view the .avi samples, but I get the idea from the still samples.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 10:48 AM   #697
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 1
External Monitor--Single Frame Only!

The external monitor will show only the first frame at the playhead, and whatever frame I stop on. Nothing in between--no motion. "Show All Frames" is checked.

I'm using a JVC TM-910SU NTSC external monitor. I'm running a G5 1.8 single processor, 2gigs ram. I'm using an ADVC-100 converter through firewire--s-video out from the converter and into the monitor.

I'm using 24 fps on the timeline, used advanced 2:3:3:2 pulldown for my footage (shot in 24p on Panasonic AGDVX100). RT unlimited, playback "high."

Please help! Looking forward to color correcting, but just can't figure this out....so close....Thanks for you thoughts on this subject. I'm sure there's some setting that I'm failing to tweak properly.

Could it have something to do with the advanced pulldown removal? The canvas shows the footage perfectly.
Stuart Goldstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 02:32 PM   #698
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA/Crete, Greece
Posts: 189
Manual for FCP 2

I am in need of "the best" (if that's possible) manual for FCP 2. What do you suggest?

Did a little research and found the following manuals that are currently available. Has anyone used any of them?

-Final Cut Pro 2 Editing Workshop
Tom Wolsky

-Macworld Final Cut Pro 2 Bible
Zed Saeed, Keith Underdahl

-Final Cut Pro 2 for Macintosh : Visual QuickPro Guide
Lisa Brenneis, Wendy Sharp (Editor)

-Final Cut Pro 2.0 for Firewire DV Editing
Charles Roberts, Foreword by Ralph Fairweather

-Revolutionary Final Cut Pro 2 Digital Film Making (with CD ROM)
Luther Blissett, George Kingsnorth, Jerome Turner, Diannah Morgan, Schuman Hoque

Thank you.
__________________
Stelios G.M.

Stylianos Moschapidakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 03:18 PM   #699
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Tom Wolsky's book is quite a good logical dance step guide.

Lisa Brenneis' "Visual" books are good references and are well structured presentations.

Browse our Read About It forum for more suggestions and ideas.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 06:16 PM   #700
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Using ext. monitor to split edit-Canvas orange

I have a TiPB 400 I'm using with FCP 3. I connected an external monitor to split edit. But when I play the Canvas on the PB's screen I get an orange matte. Even the Viewer sometimes has an orange matte when it plays.

Is there something in my Preferences or Audio Video Settings that's wrong, it's not RGB+Alpha which gives an orange tint, this is like an orange matte.

Or maybe the PB 400 can't handle it, I don't know.

Goin' crazy,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 06:37 PM   #701
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Not sure about the 400, but I ran FCP 3 on my TiBook 667 without problems, including an external monitor. Are you talking about a second computer monitor plugged into the VGA port, or an NTSC monitor plugged into the s-video port? Are you using the second screen as your external video device or just as an extension of the Mac desktop? Are you running under OS X or MacOS 9.x? I've never seen an "orange matte" like you describe, that's weird!
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 07:51 PM   #702
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
It's a computer monitor plugged into the VGA port and used as an extension of the Mac desktop along with my laptop screen. OS 9.2.

Orange matte: strange indeed!

thanks,
Elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 08:28 PM   #703
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 316
Quick Dual Monitor question...

Hey Guys,

I was wondering if my G5 can handle two monitors straight out of the box or do I need to get a dual monitor card?

I have the ATI Radeon 9600 Pro card that came with the dual G5 and was just wondering what it would take. I currently have a ViewSonic Graphic Series G90fb and another no name smaller monitor just sitting around and was wondering if it would be beneficial to hook it up (using adapters as it's not ready to hook directly up to the mac). It IS NOT the same and have read you should use the same 2 monitors??? Any clarification would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance...
Clay
__________________
I understand everything about nothing.
J. Clayton Stansberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2004, 03:48 AM   #704
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That is certainly an option. Or record them back out to DV and
store the tapes. That is probably an easier, cheaper and more
reliable method.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2004, 07:21 PM   #705
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
I second that.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network