FS4 / FS4 Pro HD various topics - Page 16 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 10th, 2006, 09:05 AM   #226
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjørn Sørensen
How is the FS4 upgraded to a FS4 pro, and how much does it cost?
Is it only a software upgrade and is it possible to download??
Are you looking for different file support, Avid etc., and retro cache which is the upgrade for FS-4 to FS-4 Pro. Or, are you looking for HD support?

It appears to me that the FS-4 can not be upgraded to FS-4 Pro, just FS-4 HD. Either way, this is the website and they can answer all of your questions.

http://www.focusenhancements.com/

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 04:49 PM   #227
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
I can confirm that an XL-1 works fine with the FS-4 in the slave mode. I do it all the time.

-vic
__________________
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 02:23 AM   #228
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Curepipe, Mauritius
Posts: 2
FS-4 Firewire Connection Issues

Hey all, my team have all been experiencing issues with the 4 firestore FS-4s we've bought. Every now and again we end up with whole sequences corrupt which the FS-4 doesnt manage to repair. After a lot of fiddling it appears that the problem seems to lie with the conenction between the FS4 and the Sony PD 170 cam. The 4-pin firewire connecter is not as secure as a 6-pin and thus if the pin moves event slightly it seems to corrupt the rest of the sequence. Has anyone had experience with this? If so what have you done?

M
Marc Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 08:55 AM   #229
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Marc...

yeah, this seems to be one of the problems with the 4-pin firewire connector...it's totally worthless. the only solution I've found is that by trying different cable brands, I managed to find one that fits rather snugly.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 12:28 PM   #230
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Hi Marc,

Contact tech support. If a cable looses contact with the 4-pin FireWire port, it shouldn't corrupt the clip the recording should just stop (the TC on the display will stop incrementing. The 4-pin FireWire connector on most cameras is delicate...and we always advise people to be very careful with it. Our original FS-1 product had a 4-pin connector and we moved away from it pretty quickly and have not standardized on the 6-pin.

Thanks,

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 04:33 PM   #231
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Will the FS-4 Pro HD get the 720/24P MOV Update?

Matt, someone on the JVC forum was wondering if the 24P MOV patch that was just released for the DR-HD100 would also get added to the FS-4 since it already can do 30P?
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #232
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
HDV 720p24 support is for the DR-HD100 (JVC version of the FS-4Pro HD) only.

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 02:10 PM   #233
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cordoba-Spain-
Posts: 24
quicktime 2,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McEwen
HDV 720p24 support is for the DR-HD100 (JVC version of the FS-4Pro HD) only.

Matt
There are users as it is my case who we bought FS4 HD before left the version JVC. It means you to me now that for us there will be no support to 25p?
If they do not update frimware for FS4 PROHD, because they removed a version for 30p?
It means to me with that the European clients we are despised by Focus? thanks for its answer
Fernando Hermoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 10:53 AM   #234
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
QuickTime HDV 720p/25 (in addition to the already shipping 720p/30 support with version 2.0) will be released for FS-4Pro HD. However, QT HDV 720p/24 support will only be available on the DR-HD100.

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 11:13 AM   #235
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laredo, Texas
Posts: 42
FS4pro FOR SALE

I'm not sure if this is the right place to place an add, but I have a lot of equipment for sale, must sell quick, so if you interested in any of these items, please call me or email me 956.333.5018 or papoyan@msn.com

FS4 PRO (40gb) Almost brand new.
Boegen Tripod with fluid head
Wireless Microphone with receiver (almost brand new)
On Camera 50w light with dimmer and double battry with belt clip. Almost brand new.
Matrox Rtx 100
Cobra 1 crane.
Hard case for Canon XL h1
Nerses Papoyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2007, 12:30 PM   #236
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Please explain. !s this a permanent descision?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 10:15 PM   #237
Stembridge
 
Posts: n/a
Hi again Matt,
That does work; how does one deal with shooting over a period of time, especially, when you have to turn your camera off for a little while? Seems like it has to be reset to Synco Slave mode every time. Is that the case?
Thanks again!
David

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McEwen
If you have a tape in the XL1 and set FS-4 to Syncro Slave control mode, you will be able to trigger rec/rec-pause from the camera.

Matt
  Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2007, 09:50 PM   #238
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Shot 1080i/60i but the FS-4Pro was set at 24f

Will this have any effect on my footage?
__________________
.
www.itchyhousefilms.com
Jay Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2007, 06:51 PM   #239
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Not sure I understand what you mean.
Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 07:21 PM   #240
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 3
FS-4 and External HDD's

As far as I know something like this doesn't exist, but I thought I'd be nice to mention. Since the FS-4 has such a nice firewire interface that lets you daisy chain FS-4 drives, why not add a lovley interface option that lets you 'dump' files on it onto an external HDD. For example; Lacie has nice and fast portable drives for sale that would do the trick. How nice would it be to take your full FS-4 and just dump the data onto a 600gb HDD? Just a thought...
Jason Brodie is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network