Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 97 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2005, 04:37 PM   #1441
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Soundforge vs. Adobe Audition

I am curious if anyone knows...

I have purchased Vegas along with the 5 training DVDs since I believe it to be the best and easiest editor to use. However, I see in so many posts about opening audio in Soundforge to edit.

I have nothing against Soundforge, and even bought an express copy years ago with Sonic Foundry, but I've always preferred Adobe Audition (which in my mind is still Cool Edit Pro since I've been using it waaaaaayyyy before Adobe bought it).

Anyway, question is, will Audition do as well with my Vegas files (I've used it many times already to successfully edit .avi's from Windows movie maker) as Soundforge will do - or is there some special things Soundforge can do that the other can't?

They've always seemed very similar, and again, I've always just preferred Audition (cool edit).
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old May 3rd, 2005, 04:44 PM   #1442
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hello,

And if it is a laptop, can you use the external connection for the monitor??

Mike
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline  
Old May 3rd, 2005, 04:49 PM   #1443
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 201
Does DVDA2 produce in DDP or CMF format

I'm finalizing my first comercial DVD and just noticed that the masters I send to the replictors are supposed to be on DVD-Rs and can be UDF, UDF BRIDGE, or ISO 9660 but they must be written in DDP2.0, 2.1 or CMF format.

I've searched and found that CMF is short for Cutting Master Format (I think that's what it said) but I can't find mention of either format within the help or manual of DVDA.

The guy at the replication facility makes it sound like any authoring software that's not older than 2 or more years should have it.

I'm worried because we're on a time crunch so I'd rather get it right with the first FedEx.

Can anyone tell me if either of these "standards" of authoring are part of DVDA?

Thanks,
Kevin

p.s. The credits are done and DvInfo.Net is shining proudly in the "Thank You's"
Kevin Kimmell is offline  
Old May 3rd, 2005, 09:12 PM   #1444
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Both are audio editors. Use what you're comfortable with. The main advantage with Sound Forge is that you can send a file from the Vegas timeline to be modified in Sound Forge and, once modified, it will be brought back into Vegas and added as a Take to that event.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 3rd, 2005, 09:16 PM   #1445
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, that should also work. I know my laptop can be set up to be two monitors - the main LCD on the laptop and an second signal out the SVGA port.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 3rd, 2005, 11:14 PM   #1446
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Ahhhh, thanks Edward

Exactly the kind of thing I was wondering. I guess thru Audition, I'll have to save the audio back to video (which can be rather lengthy) and then re-import back into Vegas. I wonder if that would degrade the quality of the file in any way vs. the Soundforge method?
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old May 3rd, 2005, 11:50 PM   #1447
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
i havent tried this as i only use Soundforge for editing, however in teh preferences tab, there is an option to select the "default audio editor"

lead it to Audition and it "should" theoretically behave the same way..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 03:38 AM   #1448
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ANKARA / TURKEY
Posts: 45
High Dynamic Range Automatic Gain Control for avisynth

Even though the results do not seem to be really desirable but I wonder if there is an easy way to do this kind of stuff with Vegas 5.0.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93571
__________________
I'm young, I'm handsome, I'm fast and can't possibly be beaten - Muhammad Ali
Ahmet Ilhan is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 08:25 AM   #1449
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm not sure that by simply pointing to the other program it will allow it to bring the audio back in as a Take. It would definitely allow STARTING the program, though.

As for saving the file, why not just save it as a WAV file instead of an AVI file? Then add the WAV file as a take on the original timeline.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 08:29 AM   #1450
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Very good. I'll try this out as soon as I can. Having to learn Vegas AND a new sound editor would be a bit taxing at the same time.

Thanks!
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 08:42 AM   #1451
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You might be able to use THIS control in Vegas. I believe that WAX adds the ability to use some AVISynth tools directly in Vegas.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 09:44 AM   #1452
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Simpsonville SC
Posts: 133
What file format for watermark in Vegas

A friend is going to make a watermark from my logo to use on some video. Can someone tell me what file format to use to carry the alpha to Vegas? (forgive me if I worded this wrong!) Thanks, Jeff
__________________
Jeff
Jeff Bradt is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 10:10 AM   #1453
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
I made my "bug" in Photoshop on a transparent background and the saved as a PNG.


Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 01:12 PM   #1454
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Creating wmv9 with wma8 or mp3?

I am wondering if anyone knows if this is possible. I use vegas 6.0 and do a lot of batch encoding so if someone knows a way to encode a wm video 9 file with wm8 audio or mp3 please let me know!

The reason for this is I am aware that a lot of websurfers dont have the 9.1+ codec installed and popup for codec = bad...

Thanks a lot everyone.
Jack Morian is offline  
Old May 4th, 2005, 01:34 PM   #1455
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 91
Or...If you have the .gif or .jpg image available, you can place it in the video and lower the opacity of the image.
Kevin Kwak is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network