FS4 / FS4 Pro HD various topics - Page 17 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2007, 08:02 AM   #241
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1
FS-4 Pro HD - Codec Issues

We have an FS-4 Pro HD. When we tried to use it for the first time, all we were getting was audio, and a blank white video. We were using Quicktime Pro to view. Nothing we tried fixed the video, so we called support.

They had us play back the video through the camera, and everything worked fine. They said that Quicktime didn't have the correct codec to properly view the video, but that Final Cut and Final Cut Express does, so if we import it, it would work. We didn't have Final Cut, so after some consideration if it would be worth it, we bought it.

This is the error we get when we import it into Final Cut Express: "Codec not found. You may be using a compression type without the corresponding hardware card."

Did support give me bad advice? Or is there something else?

Thanks in advance!
Cali Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 08:03 AM   #242
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
at one time, Focus Enhancements promised a firmware upgrade to provide exactly that...the capability to record to an external firewire drive. I don't know what ever happened to that sales promise.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 01:28 PM   #243
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
HDV native files are only supported in Final Cut Pro, not Final Cut Xpress. You need the codec drives for HDV playback that are only loaded into QuickTime Player if Final Cut Pro is loaded on your system.

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 01:31 PM   #244
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Hi Bill,

I don't believe we ever promised that for the current FS-portable devices...I am curious where you heard that.

Thanks,

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 09:42 PM   #245
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Keizer, Oregon
Posts: 26
FS-4 DV Formats for Vegas 6

What DV format setting on the FS-4 works best for import into Vegas 6?
Jeff Milligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 10:49 PM   #246
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 528
AVI Type 2.
Kit Hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 08:59 PM   #247
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Keizer, Oregon
Posts: 26
Thanks for Info

AV Type 2 is what I have been using. Thanks for the confirmation.
Jeff Milligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2007, 10:59 AM   #248
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
FS-4 HD upgrade availability?

Is the FS-4 HD Upgrade still available, does anyone know? I did not see it on the Focus Website yesterday.

Thanks,
Matt V.
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2007, 10:48 PM   #249
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Keizer, Oregon
Posts: 26
FS-4 Upgrades

I believe the upgrades for both the FS-4 to FS-4 HD and the FS-4 pro to FS-4 pro HD are still listed in the webstore section of the Focus Enhancement website. I just ordered one of these upgrades.
Jeff Milligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 01:14 AM   #250
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 528
Just checked - still there. http://www.focusinfo.com/webstore/webstore.asp
Kit Hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2007, 06:41 PM   #251
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Batch files for the FS-4 HD.

Batch files for the FS-4 HD.


Here are two batch files for combining *.m2t files created by the FS-4 HD.


Batch file one will rename the files as well as combine them. It will not rename the folder that the files are in because rename does not work with wildcards while renaming folders. So it is almost totally automatic.


Batch file two will combine the files but not rename them. It is for those situations where there is more than one recording session.


Only files that are a part of the same video session should be combined. If you start recording at 7:00 pm and stop recording at 7:05 pm, that is session one with one file for session one. And then start again at 7:20 pm and stop at 7:25 pm, that is session two with one file for session two. You will have two separate video files from the two separate sessions that should not be combined.


If each session is longer than 9 minutes you will have multiple files for each session. Files that are a part of session one should only be combined with files from session one and files that are a part of session two should only be combined with files from session two. Files from session one should not be combined with files from session two.

The more recording sessions you have, the more complicated this whole thing gets and the less likely the batch files will work. However, and since I have the non-pro version of the FS-4 HD, it may be possible to have each session use a separate folder with the pro version. If that is the case, then it may be possible to simply rename one folder at a time and then use batch file number one to combine the files of each session.


When using batch file one, you will get the following error when it encounters files that you do not have. Do not be concerned about this as the batch file will continue and finish properly.
“The system cannot find the file specified”.


Both batch files assume that after you mount the FS-4 HD, it will be drive “f:”. If not then you will need to change the first line of the batch files to be what drive it actually is. So if the FS-4 HD is drive “E” then you need to change the first line to read “e:” without the quotes. The batch files also assume that you will rename the folder that the files are located in to “fs”. The batch files also assume you are copying and combining the files to drive “v:” and to a folder named “capture”. If this is not the case with your system then make the appropriate changes.



These batch files assume 9 minutes per *.m2t file and an FS-4 HD with a 40 gig hard drive. If you have an FS-4 HD with a larger drive and if you make a super long recording then you may want to increase the number of files that the batch file(s) work with.


Finally the batch files should be run from a drive that the video files are not on or will be copied to. I have them on my c: drive because the video files are never on it. The batch file(s) may not work otherwise.


It is best to copy and paste the batch files from this post to Notepad and then save them with the name you want plus the extension of “.bat”. To make the needed changes, simply right click on the file name and select “edit”. Make the needed changes and then save it.


Here is batch file one.

First line is “f:”.
Last line is “exit”.

-------------------------------

f:
cd fs
rename *01.m2t 001.m2t
rename *02.m2t 002.m2t
rename *03.m2t 003.m2t
rename *04.m2t 004.m2t
rename *05.m2t 005.m2t
rename *06.m2t 006.m2t
rename *07.m2t 007.m2t
rename *08.m2t 008.m2t
rename *09.m2t 009.m2t
rename *10.m2t 010.m2t
rename *11.m2t 011.m2t
rename *12.m2t 012.m2t
rename *13.m2t 013.m2t
rename *14.m2t 014.m2t
rename *15.m2t 015.m2t
rename *16.m2t 016.m2t
rename *17.m2t 017.m2t
rename *18.m2t 018.m2t
rename *19.m2t 019.m2t
rename *20.m2t 020.m2t
rename *21.m2t 021.m2t
rename *22.m2t 022.m2t
rename *23.m2t 023.m2t
rename *24.m2t 024.m2t
rename *25.m2t 025.m2t
copy /b 001.m2t+002.m2t+003.m2t+004.m2t+005.m2t+006.m2t+007.m2t+008.m2t+009.m2t+010.m2t+011.m2t+012.m2t+013. m2t+014.m2t+015.m2t+016.m2t+017.m2t+018.m2t+019.m2t+020.m2t+021.m2t+022.m2t+023.m2t+024.m2t+025.m2t v:\capture\cam-1.m2t
exit


--------------------------------

And here is batch file two.

--------------------------

f:
cd fs
copy /b 001.m2t+002.m2t+003.m2t+004.m2t+005.m2t+006.m2t+007.m2t+008.m2t+009.m2t+010.m2t+011.m2t+012.m2t+013. m2t+014.m2t+015.m2t+016.m2t+017.m2t+018.m2t+019.m2t+020.m2t+021.m2t+022.m2t+023.m2t+024.m2t+025.m2t v:\capture\cam-1.m2t
exit


----------------------------------

Disclaimer:


Be very careful making changes to these batch files. Do not delete any spaces in the batch files. Do not make any other changes that you are unsure of. Doing so can cause errors to occur that could result in loss of files and other problems. Test these batch files only with a test recording. Do not test with a recording for an important project that you want to keep.


I tried to make these instructions as complete and accurate as possible. I am not responsible for file loss or other problems you may have because of your inability to use these batch files properly or from errors in the above instructions.


I hope these batch files will prove to be helpful to you. Please reply and let me know what your results are. Also let me know what suggestions you may have to help improve these batch files to make them even more beneficial to all here.


Danny Fye
www.dannyfye.com
www.vidmus.com/scolvs
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2007, 09:01 PM   #252
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 50
FS-4ProHD not recording internal TC

I have a Firestore FS-4ProHD running firmware version 2.0.0.04092006 and am feeding it a DV stream from a Miranda DVC-800. The Firestore works great as long as I have it in av/c mode and have it slaved to my F900 using external TC. When I try to use the Firestore as a stand-alone device (pressing record on the Firestore but tape isn't rolling in camera) and using internal TC I see TC running on the Firestore's screen but when I try and dump the material to a DSR-11 or import them into Avid there is no TC present.

I've looked for a "record tc / screw up tc" option but no luck. Has anyone else had this problem? Am I missing a step somewhere?

Thanks in advance,
__________________
Paul Steinberg
DP, Toronto |+|Canada
Paul Steinberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 01:10 PM   #253
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 48
Will the FS-4 HD work with a Canon GL-2?

I have a GL-2 and would like to move to a direct-to-disk solution, but I may be getting a newer HD camera soon and would like for the FS-4 to work with both cameras. Does anyone know if this is possible.

Thanks
Kelvin Kelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 01:18 PM   #254
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 116
Yes

Yep. As long as there is a IEEE (firewire) connection on the camera, you will be fine.
__________________
Scott A. Vystrcil
Equipment - Sony HVR-Z1U--Firestore FS-4 Pro HD (40GB)--Cartoni Focus F101
Editing - Canopus Edius Pro 4, Intel Pentium D 940 (3.2 GHz), 2GB, 74GB SATA 10K, 160GB SATAII, 300GB SATA, nVidia GeForce 6800 (256MB), Dell 20 in widescreen flat panel (2007WFP)
http://watersedgefrisco.com
http://vystrcil.com
Scott Vystrcil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 12:10 PM   #255
Stembridge
 
Posts: n/a
Resetting counter on FS 4 HD

I have doing some tapeless captures, and need to reset the counter... How do I do that? It currently is set to TC REC RUN

Thanks!
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network