Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 65 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2005, 12:36 PM   #961
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Granbury, TX USA
Posts: 3
I have the Mastering Premiere Pro. First thing - it says DVD all over it, but it really is just a CD disk. Second, it is helpful, but not as helpful as reading these forums or the Adobe forums. Lots of examples to work through, lots of Flash animation to follow. I haven't used Steven Gotz's tutorials, but they would almost have to be better than this disc.
Jon Back is offline  
Old May 27th, 2005, 01:12 PM   #962
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Clint,

This isn't particularly scientific, but I perceive that even from the same XL2 (standard definition) 720x480 source footage, up-rezzing to an HD-standard 720p looks a little better in both mpeg and WMV than a final 640x480 or 720x480 file. My theory is that by going to a higher pixel count during the rendering process, re-compression artifacts are less apparent.

The cost, of course, is a larger file size and as Rob pointed out, if you're going to DVD, it has to be 720x480 (plus a lot of other constraints to comply with the DVD standards). But to view on a computer or for transfer, I do think the up-rezzed stuff looks better.

The Adobe Media Encoder built into PPro and Encore preserve the aspect ratio of the footage; the Pixel Aspect Ratio will be changed during the rendering process. So nothing should end up distorted. If you're interested, I've got a couple of short samples of XL2 footage up-rezzed to 720p30 posted on my web site:
http://www.geosynchrony.com/scratchpad.htm

Sorry, it all isn't the most engaging footage...it is just there to test or demo stuff.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old May 27th, 2005, 04:11 PM   #963
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Jersey - NYC
Posts: 26
I would consider that, but the DV500 supports only up to 6.5 (since after this, Pinacle started bundling Edition with all of their hardware). I actually find Premiere 6.5's titler quite good. How does TitleDeko compare?
Andrew Sohn is offline  
Old May 27th, 2005, 04:37 PM   #964
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
I haven't really played with Title deko much, but it looks pretty full featured (read: confusing ;)
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline  
Old May 27th, 2005, 05:44 PM   #965
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Holland, Europe
Posts: 214
right click on video clip..choose LINK....you probably have unlinked audio and video accidently. Otherwise, check menu for link or help for lnking audio and video clips. peace
Jose di Cani is offline  
Old May 27th, 2005, 05:47 PM   #966
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Holland, Europe
Posts: 214
what a shame. I use premier all the time but this is weird. MAybe in an update they will enhance their software for thje newer cams on the market (xl2). ADobe isn't stupid. they will fix it soon. Xl2 is a mayor player so they have no choise.
Jose di Cani is offline  
Old May 28th, 2005, 03:10 AM   #967
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: baltimore
Posts: 31
Premiere Pro 1.5 and After Effects

In Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5, I have a 10minute movie on my Timeline with approximately 25+ clips. The project is saved in a folder entitled Movie, which also contains over 70+ .avi file clips which some were used to create the movie currently on the Timeline.

So when I go into After Effects, how can I just pull up the Timeline clips like its placed in Adobe Premiere? I can open and import the individual 70+.avi file clips that were used to create my movie, but I am trying to get the whole 10 movie.
What I am trying to do is use the Magic Bullet Suite Plug in for my 10 minute movie


Thanks
Joe Mobic is offline  
Old May 28th, 2005, 05:21 AM   #968
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Hi Joe,
Not sure about older versions of AE, but with 6.5 you can just import the PPro project file directly into AE as a single object. You can then create a new 10 minute composition and apply your MB to it.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old May 28th, 2005, 06:49 AM   #969
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You certainly can up-rez to 1280 x 720. However, standard DV (720 x 480
for NTSC) is SQUARE, not widescreen (unless you shot in 16:9 widescreen).

So if you simply export 720 x 480 (square) to 1280 x 720 it will look distorted,
unless the program knows what it is doing. Doing such up conversions can
be a tricky thing and may require various trial and error runs.

However, this is only useful if you are displaying it on a HD capable system
(ie computer or HD projector attached properly). If you go out to DVD stick
with the "normal" SD resolution.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 28th, 2005, 07:16 AM   #970
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Hey Rob,

I think you're mistaken on that one. NTSC DVDs have the same Pixel Aspect Ratios (PAR) of 0.9 for narrow and 1.2 for widescreen that miniDV does. (Hence the need for PAR flags in the mpeg stream for the DVD player read). Going from miniDV tape to DVD mpeg wouldn't normally involve change in PAR.

Up-rezzing from wide 720x480 to 720p (1280x720) does involve a change in PAR from 1.2 to square (1.0 PAR) pixels as the output is rendered. The presets in the Adobe Media Encoder do this with little to no fuss on the part of the user.

If a person did want to up-rez a narrow screen (0.9 PAR) DV project to 1280x720 (widescreen), it could be done, too, using either pan-and-scan in the timeline or the cropping feature of the Adobe Media Encoder, although of course resolution will be lost in the process.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old May 28th, 2005, 07:32 AM   #971
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
We are on the same page Pete! 1.2 PAR will indeed transfer over nicely to
1280 x 720 (both equal about 1.77 aspect ratio). I was saying that if your
footage is not widescreen (ie 0.9 PAR for NTSC) it will not transfer over to
1280 x 720 (get's stretched) unless the encoder crops your footage to
widescreen automatically.

Perhaps I did not word it that great earlier.

p.s. what I meant with square is not the pixel aspect ratio but that look of
the "screen", ie non widescreen. Not square pixels. I know the screen is not
truely square since it is 4:3, but you get my drift. It isn't what we call widescreen.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 28th, 2005, 10:39 AM   #972
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Premiere Pro 1.5 audio error

When I try and import a MPEG file, I get an "Unsupported audio sample rate" error.

When I try it a second time, it imports but the video is a black screen with no sound.

Has anyone seen this before?

On my old computer the video played just fine.
Matthew Weitz is offline  
Old May 29th, 2005, 05:07 AM   #973
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Quote:
On my old computer the video played just fine
It does not play (in Windows Media player for example) well on your current
system? If so, it may simply be missing some codecs. Do you have any DVD
player software installed? That usually installs required MPEG-2 and audio
codecs to play back such files.

I'm not 100% sure if PPro 1.5 can load MPEG-2 in the timeline or not (I don't
use that NLE). Hopefully someone else will comment on that.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 29th, 2005, 06:28 AM   #974
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Mpeg files can be EXPORTED from the PPro timeline but unfortunately, mpeg isn't on the list of formats supported for import and editing in PPro. Depending on the file settings, it'll usually import, but most likely won't play or edit correctly within PPro.

To effectively be able to use your mpeg files in PPro, you need a plug-in like MainConcept's or to first convert them to AVI with an application like Canopus Procoder.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old May 29th, 2005, 08:55 AM   #975
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Joe,

Re-reading my last answer, I was obviously in TOO much of a hurry yesterday; will correct and expand a bit. To be able to apply an effect, such as Magic Bullet, within AE 6.5 to a PPro sequence:

1. File>>Import...

2. Choose the PPro project file

The PPro project will appear as a heading in the AE Project Window. Nested under it will be all its PPro sequences labeled as "Compositions" and references to all source files used in the project.

3. You can work with a sequence (now called a composition) in at least two ways:

A. In the project window, double click the composition that you want to apply the effect to. It should appear within both a timeline window with all the source files nested under it, and in a viewer window. You can work with individual layers this way.
(or)
B. Create a new blank composition (Composition>>New...) and drag the composition you want from the project window into the new composition. Since it is "nested" into a new composition, it won't have all the source files nested under it. This is the quick way to apply a consistent effect to the whole sequence/composition.

4. Apply your effect.

That should do it.

To "interpret footage" for source clips, just right click and choose "interpret footage." You can't do that with a nested composition, though. It is set, as is.

AE definitely has a steep learning curve -- which of course is a euphemism for -- "hard!" I only have the PPro Magic Bullet Movie Looks that ships with the Adobe Video Collection, so can't personally verify that the AE Magic Bullet plug-in works under these circumstances, but can't see any reason why it shouldn't. Keep practicing and trying different things, and it'll reward you with some amazing final products!
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network