Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 8 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2003, 08:12 AM   #106
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 53
Thanks guys, I'll look into your suggestions!

Max
Max Mishler is offline  
Old March 11th, 2003, 08:17 AM   #107
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Vegas 4 really looks good from the specs and with DVD appears to be a killer NLE.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline  
Old March 11th, 2003, 08:24 AM   #108
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
Well, Nathan, you'll find that those of us that use Vagas would agree with you 100%--it is a killer NLE. Finally, it has caught up to and surpassed every other NLE out there.

Having said that, let me also say I have not used all other NLE apps. But I have read too many posts by users of every other NLE app that have said that very thing. So I'm just repeating what've heard (read). ;o)
Jay Gladwell is offline  
Old March 11th, 2003, 08:40 AM   #109
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Definately a killer NLE--but DVD architect needs some work. However, its only version 1.0 and knowing the people over at Sonic Foundry they will fine tune it pretty soon.
David Mintzer is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 01:48 AM   #110
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
AARRGH! Crappy previewing in Vegas 3

I had Win 98 previously, and my video previews were fine in Vegas Video 3. I'm talking previews from the computer monitor, with no effects, plain old video.

I put in Win XP Pro recently, and now my previews are very stuttery. The playhead will run smoothly across the timeline for various lengths of time (sometimes five seconds, sometimes twenty minutes) and then stop, during which period I can't do anything with the playhead, and after about ten or fifteen seconds, it will become usable again. Sometimes it tells me it was "unable to mix audio, time out," or something like that. If anyone has suggestions, I'd like to hear them. I've been doing the videoguys.com tweaks for Win XP, though I haven't done the ones where you edit the registry yet. . .maybe that's the problem.

Also, is there a way to keep Vegas from showing the actual frames of video in the timeline on the video clips? If so, might this make a difference?
Josh Bass is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 05:41 AM   #111
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
You might check how much memory you have. XP likes lots more memory than Win98 does. The other thing is to check whether your system is XP compliant (are you running Pro or Home); just because you can load it does not mean it will run properly.

You might want to do a search on XP or Vegas. There are a number of posts from individuals who also had problems with XP.

Also, post some information on your system. Its a little hard to offer suggestions without system details.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 08:46 AM   #112
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 196
Color correction on VV4

I just finished my first project on VV4. It is a great program and fun to use. Only one thing kept bugging me. When I would apply color correct or brightness/contrast to an event I assumed if I clicked on any point on an event in the timeline it would adjust the color for the whole event. That proved to be wrong. So I clicked on the beginning of the clip to adjust. The strange thing is it doesn't adjust the very begining of the event but quickly fades into the adjusted color. This wasn't a critical issue for this project since I used a lot of crossfades between the events, but could see how this would be too noticeable with a straight cut (without any transition). Is there an easier way of doing this. Most of the time when I have problems I find I'm just doing some simple step wrong.

Thanks
Dan Measel is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 09:38 AM   #113
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 110
Images: 5
Could it be you had keyframing enabled?

Check to see that the "sync cursor" button beneath the keyframing timeline (inside the FX window) isn't selected...
__________________
SMCproductions.com
Steven-Marc Couchouron is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 10:12 AM   #114
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
Dan, your best bet for getting answers to your Vegas questions is to go to Sonic Foundry's Vegas forum: http://www.sonicfoundry.com/forums/default.asp. Scroll down and select "Vegas--Video Topics". You won't be sorry!
Jay Gladwell is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 11:23 AM   #115
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Billy Boy over at the Sonic Foundry Forum has a great tutorial on color correcting.
David Mintzer is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 02:30 PM   #116
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 148
I'd suggest looking into your DMA settings for hard drive access, if this is coming from an IDE drive. Right click "My Computer" and pick "manage" to get to the device manager, and check the properties on your IDE controllers. You should have Ultra DMA enabled.

Depending on your chipset, you likely need updated drivers. For Intel chipsets, visit http://support.intel.com and get the latest chipset driver package (it's generic and covers all chipsets in the last few years). For Via, find the latest 4-in-one.
Brian M. Dickman is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 03:34 PM   #117
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Drivers for what exactly? I've updated my video card, (though not the sound card--the website said not to because of problems people had had with their drivers). I have an AMD processor, not an Intel. DMA is enabled.


System Details:

AMD 1600 XP processor (approx. 1 gigahertz)
1024 MB of RAM
NVIDIA Diamond Viper 770D Video Card
Aureal Vortex 8830 Sound Card
WIN XP PRO

Sorry don't know the speed of the C drive--it's whatever came with this computer and I have no idea how to look it up

Media drive for video is a LaCIE 80GB Firewire Drive, 7200 RPM

Anything I left out? Can't think of anything else that would be pertinent.
Josh Bass is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 03:38 PM   #118
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Here is the key: "unable to mix audio, time out,"

By this, I assume the video is on a firewire drive and NOT an internal drive. Some have claimed that rebuilding the peak files will help solve this problem (F5). Others have mentioned uping the audio buffer from .35 to .40.

If all of these fail, try copying the data to an internal drive and seeing if the problem still exists. If the problem goes away on the internal drive, it is a Windows problem in communicating with the firewire device which may require any or all of the following to fix:

1) A different firewire enclusure (don't know what brand you have)
2) A different firewire card (also don't know the brand)
3) Changing the hard drive to a USB enclosure.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 03:41 PM   #119
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It sounds like you are NOT setting the FIRST keyframe to the correction values. You can make sure you get the FIRST keyframe by clicking on the box that looks like a diamond with a left arrow in it and a vertical line to the left of it. Clicking on that will guarantee you are on the first keyframe. Also, if the box with the little lock is clicked, turn it OFF. Then you can click anywhere on the clip and the keyframe timeline will not follow causing you to create additional keyframes.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 13th, 2003, 03:45 PM   #120
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
A good idea. Thanks.

I seem to remember problems even without audio, i.e. if I removed the audio from the timeline. I'll try it again though.
Josh Bass is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network